Disclosure Requirements in Texas
The Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) has specific requirements for abortion clinics. Abortion clinics must provide information written by TDSHS, at the first point of contact with the clinic. Please click the link below to read the mandated information.
TDSHS Disclosure Requirements:
Download them here
** On the date of your abortion appointment you will sign a certification form from the Texas Department of State Health Services. This certification indicates that you received a sonogram and specific information from your doctor 24 hours in advance.
24-hour Waiting Period & Sonogram
Required by Texas law, a patient seeking a termination must receive state mandated information and a sonogram from her doctor at the clinic at least 24 hours before she can legally have an abortion. This information is required by law to be given privately and in person. Compliance with this law requires a patient a clinic visit at least two times pending on gestation.
If you live 100 miles or more from a clinic, you may be eligible to receive some of the information by phone. On the day of your appointment, a sonogram would be preformed. At that point, you must wait 2 hours before you can have the abortion. This exception is also part of Texas law.
More information about the “Woman’s Right to Know Act” can be found at www.dshs.state.tx.us/wrtk.
Be sure to call the clinic or click here for instructions on how to schedule your appointment.
You must also receive written information regarding state licensing. You can do this by clicking here, and performing a license search.
Texas laws require parental consent if you are under 18, and not married. There is a state produced consent form that must be completed by the minor patient and one of her parents or guardian; it must also be notarized. Notaries are available at our clinic. Minors must have a valid photo ID as well as their birth certificate. The parent/guardian must have current (not expired) government issued identification for their signature to be notarized.
If obtaining parental consent is a problem for you, we can help you with information about obtaining a judicial bypass. Call us for details.
Waiting Room Limitations
Please limit your ride or support to one person (adult). Our waiting rooms are too small to accommodate more than you and one guest. Therefore please find childcare during your appointment, children can not be assisted at our office.
If you are over 18, you must have photo identification or your birth certificate. Anyone that is with you must have a picture identification. Please contact our office if you do not have ID.
Please do not bring large bags into the clinic. Do not bring large bags – backpack size or larger.